Musings of the Mind

Birth, School, Work, Death

Being a Generation-X baby, when I was a kid, there was a life Image result for birth school work death songformula that was strongly implied by the society I grew up in. There was even a song written about it entitled “Birth, School, Work, Death” by The Godfathers which debuted in 1988, when I had just graduated from high school and about to begin my adult life. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QO5dcW0P75M

This style of music was a bit out of my league at the time, but the lyrics so eloquently summed up the conflict that I and my generation felt. Should we continue on with the old ways or invent anew by redefining how a life should be lived? Perhaps a more freelance version of the old, casting aside the strict regimen by giving way to an ebb and flow of time that truly speaks to who we are.

In my own life thus far, I have hit three of the old markers. Birth, school and work. Yet, I’ve flourished these markers with radiant highlights such as motherhood, close friendships and just recently, a solid relationship with a wonderful partner and volunteering in quite a fulfilling capacity. I’ve moved to another country, learning more and more everyday about the world at large, outside of the vacuum that I grew up in. Travelling the roads of that beautiful world allows me to see, up close and personal, just how lucky we are to be able to share this wondrous planet we call home, when one just like it has yet to be found in our vast universe.

By choosing not to force ourselves into a regimental box, that no one, unique individual really fits into anyway, we open ourselves up to the opportunity of being shown the true beauty of this world, of this life and of becoming our authentic selves.

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life.

Steve Jobs

 

Leave a Reply

